Sheppard honors Dibble, Gruenes during Chief Recognition Ceremony

  • Published
  • By John Ingle
  • 82nd Training Wing Public Affairs

SHEPPARD AIR FORCE BASE, Texas – Two senior noncommissioned officers were honored during a Chief Recognition Ceremony June 11, 2021, for attaining the highest enlisted rank in the Air Force.

Chief Master Sgt. William P. Dibble, 373rd Training Squadron superintendent, and Chief Master Sgt. William R. Gruenes, 782nd Training Group superintendent of military training, were the distinguished guests at the annual event. Brig. Gen. Kenyon K. Bell, 82nd Training Wing commander, and 82nd TRW Command Chief Master Sgt. Wayne B. Jones hosted the event.

The Military Pay Act of 1958, signed into law by President Dwight D. Eisenhower on May 20, 1958, created the enlisted pay grades of E-9 and E-8, and it was later 1958 when the rank of chief master sergeant was established. On Dec. 1, 1959, the Air Force promoted 650 senior master sergeants to the highest enlisted rank.

By law, no more than 1.25 percent of the enlisted structure can wear the rank of chief master sergeant at any given time.